The City of Lock Haven has a Council-Manager form of government. City Council consists of 6 Council members and a Mayor, each serving a 4 year term. Council meetings are held the 1st and 3rd Monday of each month to conduct business and set policy in the first floor Council Chambers of City Hall.  The City Council also relies on the counsel of several boards and commissions which are composed of several local residents whose interests and expertise help inform decision-making and guide policy.  City Council is guided by the Third Class City Code as well local ordinances.

The City Council also appoints members to both the Lock Haven City Authority (sewer and water Services) and the Flood Authority.